Behavioral debt?

From Behavioral Debt, by Ben Bajarin:

“Companies want to know why their customers aren’t buying new products or services they offer, while their old ones seem to be all their customers are interested in. In most cases, what we observe is simply entrenched behavior that is very difficult to evolve. Once a behavior is established, debt is built up around it. The longer that behavior remains entrenched, the larger the pile of behavioral debt. The larger the pile of behavioral debt, the more difficult it is for that customer to climb out from under it.”

Read the rest here: https://techpinions.com/behavioral-debt/47323

My two cents: Or it could just be that your new product is shit and no one is interested in it, therefore all your “nudging” and “educating” is for naught…

Also I think this person in the comments section nails it:

“As a user rather than an insider, I would like to share some of my thoughts on why I don’t or won’t be using some of the services/products mentioned by you.
Facebook’s Marketplace is just the latest attempt, after a series of failures (and finally success in Groups), to get buyers/sellers using their platform on a larger basis. However, I just do not trust Facebook with any of my financial information. This is not from a fear of a breach, but instead one of abuse since Facebook’s real goal is to gain control of a new subset of data to feed to its ad business, something I am quite loathe to do.
This speaks to the credit apps available to use. The variety and breadth of apps is jaw-droppingly large and yet none works in concert with another while using different methods to complete the transaction. In addition to the previously mentioned inconvenience of having to set up the credit app from the start, which one do you choose? What if the wifi is poor or the app won’t open? Plastic cards are just that much easier and faster to use than smartphones or twisting one’s arm awkwardly to scan a smartwatch (that itself is tethered to a smartphone so why do I need it again?). Plus, this seems the case of someone coming up with an untapped data subset (same as Facebook’s) and devising a method to get and control that data than to solve a real problem.
I work with a tablet everyday in my job and I like the access that it gives me to data since I am not at a desk. But my like comes with one big caveat: I really hate the touchscreen aspect because the slightest touch to the wrong part of the screen sends it off to another page, something my laptop doesn’t do because I have a keyboard that only affects the screen via a small, select array of keys. I don’t like them for my private use simply because they’re too cloud-based and, again, I don’t trust the companies out there but this time to not lose my data. I also have no personal need for many of the features inherent in tablets especially since I don’t have to bring work home with me. I don’t even use most of the “special” features in my laptop or browser so why do I need a screen I can draw on when I don’t draw?
As for Facebook and its video, I couldn’t stand when autoplay videos showed up on sites I visited long before Facebook started pushing video at everyone. I would rather read a story than watch a video about the same because I can skim a text-based story. Most videos seem to want to take their time getting to the point or leave out any depth making it a version of a really long headline. In other words, they’re crap.
The bottom line is that most of these examples you brought up have a commonality: each helps their creator control new data to sell for advertising rather than fill a real need (yes, Microsoft is collecting data about how users use their devices unless one goes in and changes the defaults). So if part of your job is to advise businesses to examine whether or not people really need a service/product than to simply try to help them overcome user “resistance”, please tell them those are probably some of the reasons.
BTW: Facebook’s three second count for views of videos is a cheat. That is about the same time it takes to swipe it away.”

 

Leave a Reply

