Why I Feel So Strongly About Music

beauty within

“You’re going to bar the 7th fret and make an E-minor chord,” he showed me. “Then take your little finger off.”

I cupped my guitar and forcefully pressed my first finger down onto the 7th fret of the fretboard. I put my three other fingers down rightfully so in the shape of an A-minor chord, and then took my pinky off.

“Reminds me a little of Santana,” my guitar teacher said. “That’s an E-minor 7th chord.”

I strummed my guitar. It had this smooth and warm tone. It felt somewhat of a less harsh version of a minor chord with a bluesier ring.

I was on my way to playing the beginning of Jason Mraz and Tristan Prettyman’s moody tune, “Shy That Way,” and I had no idea how much this song would shape the rest of my guitar-playing.

I think this was one of the first songs I learned that taught…

View original post 814 more words

Leave a Reply

