All Hail Iris Apfel!

What a woman! Behold the fashion icon, muse, and my spirit animal, the incomparable Iris Apfel:

“(Despite all this, she still has a prehistoric cell-phone that lacks even texting capabilities, and refuses to use email. When I contacted her for quote approval, she asked to be faxed the article. When I said I didn’t have a fax machine, she responded, “Send a bike messenger.”) But the newfound attention is little more than a form of amusement for her. “I think it’s hysterical,” she says in her New York drawl. “My husband and I laugh about it all the time, because I’m not doing anything different than I did 70 years ago, and all of a sudden I’m so hot and so cool, and whatever the hell the kids say I am. It’s fun, but it hasn’t gone to my head.” She shrugs, then says, flippantly, “I call myself a geriatric starlet.”

Read the rest here:

http://www.dazeddigital.com/fashion/article/15009/1/cover-story-the-age-of-iris

Leave a Reply

